National Blue Ribbon School Honors for 12 California Schools

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos, recognized 12 schools in Californiaschools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2018.

Up to 420 schools can be nominated each year.

The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

“I’m pleased to celebrate with you as your school is named a National Blue Ribbon School,” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos in a video message to the honorees.

 “We recognize and honor your important work in preparing students for successful careers and meaningful lives. Congratulations on your students’ accomplishments and for your extraordinary commitment to meeting their unique needs.”

The coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools award affirms the hard work of educators, families and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content.

Now in its 36th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 8,800 schools.

On November 7 and 8, the Secretary and the Department of Education will celebrate with all honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

All schools are honored in one of two performance categories, based on all student scores, subgroup student scores and graduation rates:

·       Exemplary High Performing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools as measured by state assessments or nationally normed tests.

·       Exemplary Achievement Gap Closing Schools are among their state’s highest performing schools in closing achievement gaps between a school’s subgroups and all students over the past five years.

The Department invites National Blue Ribbon School nominations from the top education official in all states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the Department of Defense Education Activity and the Bureau of Indian Education.

Private schools are nominated by The Council for American Private Education (CAPE).

NOTE TO EDITORS: Photographs and brief descriptions of the 2018 National Blue Ribbon Schools are available at

School Name                                                     City

Argonaut Elementary School                          Saratoga

Carmel Valley Middle School                         San Diego

Golden Elementary School                              Placentia

Joaquin Miller Middle School                         San Jose

John Gomes Elementary School                      Fremont

North Star Academy                                        Redwood City

Redwood Middle School                                 Saratoga

Riverside STEM Academy                              Riverside

Sam H. Lawson Middle School                       Cupertino

San Diego Jewish Academy Lower School     San Diego

Teach Elementary School                                San Luis Obispo

William Hopkins Junior High School              Fremont

Related articles on schools